KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - Mackie CFX 12 hook up Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

   
  * Login
  * Register

  * FAQ

Social Networks


premium-member

Offsite Links


It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 8:46 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mackie CFX 12 hook up
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 6:50 pm 
Offline
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:11 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Been Liked: 0 time
Hello everyone,

     I just purchased a CFX12 mackie mixer and I'm confused on whether I have hook it up properly. I'm running JBL eon G2's with a laptop so the there isn't much there to connect. I ran my eon's to the main outs and my laptop to channel 11-12 push down the left button for sub 1 and the right button for sub 2, and push down 1-2 for channel 11-12 (per manual). When I start the music the meter is only indicated on the left side but when I pan left and right on channel 11-12 it goes back and fourth between speakers seeming to working. Could there be a problem with the indicator or do I have something connected wrong? Should the indicator only light on the left side? Thanks :thinkin:


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2005 7:17 pm 
Offline
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 19086
Songs: 32
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 846 times
Well channels 11/12 are actually one stereo fader so if you plug both into it, you should pan it straight up.  You'll send to either subgroup, 3/4 is generally where you'd send it to.  
Once on the subgroup, push down left on subgroup fader 3 & right on subgroup fader 4 - this is of course if you want to run stereo, otherwise just push left & right on both.

For your mics just use channel 1 - (number of mics).  Pan those all to the left & depress subgroup 1/2.  Now on the subgroup fader number 1, depress both left & right.  THis will bring your vocals through both speakers.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:40 am 
Lonman Kicks (@$%&#!) !!! :)


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:47 am 
Offline
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 12:11 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Been Liked: 0 time
Thanks Loman,

      Should the meter light up on both sides? Right now I'm only showing the left side of the meter and nothing on the right. When I pan left and right on channel 11-12 it sounds as if it is playing on both channels, but the meter shows a signal for just one side.  :shock:


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2005 9:03 am 
Offline
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 19086
Songs: 32
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 846 times
micbob @ Tue Mar 15, 2005 5:47 am wrote:
Thanks Loman,

      Should the meter light up on both sides? Right now I'm only showing the left side of the meter and nothing on the right. When I pan left and right on channel 11-12 it sounds as if it is playing on both channels, but the meter shows a signal for just one side.  :shock:


Is there a large red blinking LED (Rude Solo Light) next to the meter anywhere?  If so, you have one of your channels "solo" button depressed.  Make sure these buttons are all up.  They are located at the bottom of each channel fader.  
When one is depressed, it would give the meter problem you are indicating but everything would sound fine.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:34 pm 
Offline
newbie
newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: West Virginia
Been Liked: 0 time
A little overkill with the cfx12 and how many channels your using lol, but even if you were only using 1 channel, great choice !  If used the cfx for about a year now and would use nothing else.  Ive never had that problem using my laptop or any channels where  only half the signal meter showed unless the rude was on.  

Dangerous
[url]seventhDS.com[/url]


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 5:21 pm 
Offline
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 19086
Songs: 32
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 846 times
SeventhDS @ Fri Mar 18, 2005 2:34 pm wrote:
A little overkill with the cfx12 and how many channels your using lolDangerous
[url]seventhDS.com[/url]


Not overkill at all if you use it.  It also has no more channels than those using the DFX12.  I've also used the CFX right around 4 years now & have actaully finally outgrown it.  3 player take 2 stereo channels & 2 regular channels.  3 wired mics, one headset mic.  I run the outboard effects back to a channel for added control and to be able to blend with the onboard effects.  Right now I run a computer for fill music going through a y connector, but will be making the digital move for my karaoke as soon as I get the new computer dedicated for karaoke so I will want another input for it to make a better connection (and sound).  I will probably just get rid of my V-10 & use it's inputs.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:33 pm 
Offline
newbie
newbie

Joined: Thu Mar 17, 2005 6:28 pm
Posts: 7
Location: West Virginia
Been Liked: 0 time
I was just going on the fact that the guy up there was just using two inputs lol, which is overkill boardwise. But im not saying thats a bad thing, id recommend that board to someone using 1 input lol.  

Im about ready to head up to the cfx16 myself. 3 cordless (1 of them is a headset), 2 wired (one condenser), computer, cdg player, 2 cavs, and an md which i keep sound effect snippits. Definatly the best board Ive ever used.

Dangerous
[url]seventhds.com[/url]


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 12:01 am 
Offline
Major Poster
Major Poster

Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 77
Location: Petersburg, IN
Been Liked: 0 time
I use the DFX-12, similar to the CFX-12 just with a bit less.  It takes care of all my needs though.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:51 pm 
Offline
newbie
newbie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:42 pm
Posts: 1
Been Liked: 0 time
:thinkin: I had been the same problem, thanks to your posts, I am never confused now
:o


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: neur0mancr, seattledrizzle and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Privacy Policy | Anti-Spam Policy | Acceptable Use Policy Copyright © Karaoke Scene Magazine
design & hosting by Cross Web Tech