KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - Help with set-up.. Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

* Login
  * Register

* FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks

premium-member

Offsite Links

It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 11:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Help with set-up..
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 11:29 am 

Been Liked: 0 time
Hi guys and gals. I'm new to this karaoke scene(pun intended). I wanted to set up a karaoke system for my wife and kids but not sure in the direction to take. First off, I have a home theater system comprise of:

1. Onkyo Integra DTR-5( older receiver)
2. Klipsch RF-35 system w/velodyne subwoofer ct-120. Sound great for music, but not sure about karaoke.
3. a Sony laptop xp. I have a vga cable to my TV already which works.
4. a Denon hm-500 mic mixer/premamp my brother gave me. Not sure how it works.

I downloaded karafun on my pc and my wife enjoyed it. I guess my question is will I need additional components like the lexicon alpha 2.0 usb for my laptop to connect to my audio system for sound. I've searched the forums and having mix feelings on the idea of buying PA speakers or use what I have. My second choice was to buy a RSQ neo-22 since its reviewed as the best karaoke player for the price and skip the laptop idea. I appreciated any help and input you can give me. I am a complete newbie.

Thanks in advance,

Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 

Post subject: Re: Help with set-up..
PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 12:41 pm 
Extreme Plus Poster
Extreme Plus Poster

Been Liked: 122 times
Definitely recommend you spend your money on PA speakers.

You are going to need some sort of mixer. The Denon thing you have is probably a DJ mixer, and not really the kind you want for karaoke.