KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - Any tips for this campfire type setup? Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

* Login
  * Register

* FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks

wordpress-hosting

Offsite Links

It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:05 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2020 4:41 pm 
Major Poster
Major Poster

Been Liked: 4 times
I work part time as a campground host at a campground, and we show movies on the projector from time to time. Just a small group of employees, not the general public. Attached are a couple of pics of the setup so you get the idea.

In the past at another location I've done karaoke with a PA, mixer, compressor and wired and wireless mics, which was great, but it's a lot of setup and is a bit loud for this environment. Then recently someone gave me one of these $30 wireless bluetooth karaoke mics with built-in speakers:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071SGMQ7V

While it's obviously lacking compared to a full setup, it was enough to get people singing. Surprisingly much! Full on howling around the campfire while reading the karaoke from youtube on a phone. So I was thinking that in the COVID era these mics are a nice low key way to have an easy campfire-singalong style karaoke party, since they're cheap enough to just get a bunch of them so people can use the same mic all night, or share with their partner. And it's also a nice way to keep the volume down. And we're outdoors, socially distanced, and not sharing equipment.

It would be nice to get the music playing from all the mics at once though, which is where I'm currently stumped. I know I can broadcast to a single speaker, and I might do that as well, but I'm thinking that the distributed sound source (the speakers in each mic) might make it so we can have quieter music volume overall, which is a big factor here.