Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums
http://karaokescene.com/forums/

Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC
http://karaokescene.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=39446
Page 4 of 6

Author:  Alan B [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 6:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

dvdgdry wrote:

Are you telling me and the rest of us that you do not have to make any adjustments?

Not at all. But I only have to make adjustments when I do DJ music, which doesn't bother me and is no big deal. CompuHost takes care of the karaoke since it has a Volume Normalization built in. It analyzes the upcoming song before it even begins playing so every karaoke track is going to sound the same and be at the same level. Does a great job, too.

Oh, and by the way... while the EV Evolve 50 can't do Volume Normalization, it is an amazing sound system... just incredible. It just blows me away every time I use it.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you continued success with using Breakaway. AND... I'm glad that it does the job that you intended it to do.

Anyway, thanks for giving me the opportunity to respond. May you have a beautiful day... A day that's filled with happiness and joy.

Author:  Lonman [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

So Compuhost basically has a Breakaway type processor built in. So you do use something similar - if a Breakaway sound leveler was built into the softwares we use, it wouldn't be an issue. It's just the fact it's external. Gotcha.

Author:  Alan B [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 2:13 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Lonman wrote:
So Compuhost basically has a Breakaway type processor built in. So you do use something similar - if a Breakaway sound leveler was built into the softwares we use, it wouldn't be an issue. It's just the fact it's external. Gotcha.

The Volume Normalization is an option in CompuHost. You don't have to engage it. But it does do the job at keeping all the tracks at the same level. And that's all it does. Unlike Breakaway, it does not alter or change the sound or add more fullness or more bass or more treble, etc. It's not a glorified tone control like Breakaway.

Author:  Lonman [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

LOL, glorifed tone control. So obviously you DIDN'T really look into it. It's more a normalizer, multiband expander and compressor with some tonal adjustments - that's not it's main purpose, nor even what I use it for.

Author:  Alan B [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:19 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Lonman wrote:
LOL, glorifed tone control. So obviously you DIDN'T really look into it. It's more a normalizer, multiband expander and compressor with some tonal adjustments - that's not it's main purpose, nor even what I use it for.

Yes, I most certainly did try it out. What I'm saying is that CompuHost does not do all of the things that Breakaway does. It only normalizes the volume which is all I need.

I don't need to use Breakaway's enhancements to achieve great sound. I'm happy with the quality of the sound that I'm getting without it. And obviously so are my customers.

Author:  Alan B [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 7:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

I forgot to mention, it addition to Volume Normalization, CompuHost also has a 10 band equalizer which actually does a very respectable job. Although I don't use it, I have tried it and have been impressed with the results. I always make adjustments using the EQ controls from my A&H mixer.

So, as you can see, I really have no use for Breakaway but if I did want that type of processed sound, I would put my BBE 882i back in the rack.

Attachments:
cheq.jpg
cheq.jpg [ 113.62 KiB | Viewed 5518 times ]

Author:  Paradigm Karaoke [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 10:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Alan B wrote:
I'm happy with the quality of the sound that I'm getting without it. And obviously so are my customers.

you were happy with your previous speakers and so were your singers.
why did you bother spending more money to get new speakers when they were just as good?
if your singers think it sounds good, why do anything at all to make it better?

Author:  Alan B [ Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Paradigm Karaoke wrote:
you were happy with your previous speakers and so were your singers.
why did you bother spending more money to get new speakers when they were just as good?

Because of my back. It has become quite a struggle lifting 50 pound speakers on stands. My back and shoulders are not what they once were. So, I needed to find a better way.

The solution was the Evolve 50. Not only does it save my back, but it's the best damn system I've ever had. So, I am grateful to EV for making a system that's compact, lightweight, and portable while at the same time producing the most amazing sound quality. So, thanks to EV for making a system that's outstanding in every way. My back thanks you too.

Author:  Lonman [ Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Bbe is not even in the same league. Talk about snake oil, the bbe is your processor.

But glad you show and equipment are so perfect and you have all the skills that no one here that uses it do not. :roll:

Author:  Alan B [ Tue Mar 26, 2019 12:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Lonman wrote:
Bbe is not even in the same league. Talk about snake oil, the bbe is your processor.

C'mon Lonnie, you yourself used to use a BBE Sonic Maximizer, didn't you? If I'm wrong, I apologize but I could have sworn reading several years that you were using one too.

Author:  Lonman [ Tue Mar 26, 2019 3:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

"used to" key words. Until I saw actual proof and started really checking into it. I haven't had one in my rig since mid 2000's. Nothing but a bass/treble control that most kj's (and dj's) overuse anyway.

Author:  Alan B [ Fri Mar 29, 2019 2:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

OK so how does Breakaway work with the Lexicon Alpha? Right now, my PC uses the Alpha ASIO drivers and under Sound Properties, is the default USB playback device. When you install Breakaway, it then becomes the default playback device as shown in Sound properties. So, how does the Alpha work with Breakaway?

Author:  DannyG2006 [ Fri Mar 29, 2019 4:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Alan B wrote:
OK so how does Breakaway work with the Lexicon Alpha? Right now, my PC uses the Alpha ASIO drivers and under Sound Properties, is the default USB playback device. When you install Breakaway, it then becomes the default playback device as shown in Sound properties. So, how does the Alpha work with Breakaway?

In Breakaway you have to go into settings. My suggestion at the start to make use of the wizard. It will ask what soundcard to connect to. It will then run you through a couple of tests to be sure it is working properly. Then it will ask if you want to set it as the default. Once you do that you're done.

Author:  Lonman [ Fri Mar 29, 2019 10:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Alan B wrote:
OK so how does Breakaway work with the Lexicon Alpha? Right now, my PC uses the Alpha ASIO drivers and under Sound Properties, is the default USB playback device. When you install Breakaway, it then becomes the default playback device as shown in Sound properties. So, how does the Alpha work with Breakaway?
Why does it matter? It's snake oil remember, not worth using.
However, you would set the sound settings to Breakaway Pipeline, then in the Breakway sound output setting to Lexicon (or USB output).

Author:  Alan B [ Sat Mar 30, 2019 3:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Lonman wrote:
Alan B wrote:
OK so how does Breakaway work with the Lexicon Alpha? Right now, my PC uses the Alpha ASIO drivers and under Sound Properties, is the default USB playback device. When you install Breakaway, it then becomes the default playback device as shown in Sound properties. So, how does the Alpha work with Breakaway?
Why does it matter? It's snake oil remember, not worth using.
However, you would set the sound settings to Breakaway Pipeline, then in the Breakway sound output setting to Lexicon (or USB output).
I am now going to tell you why it matters. Are you ready?

You see my friend, when I tried it out at home I wasn't very impressed. However, to be fair, I decided to try it out in a professional environment so I purchased the full version. I will be evaluating it at my show tonight.

If it works out, I will be happy and admit I was wrong. If not, I spent $29 which isn't going to break me, to find out.

I will be using it with my Evolve 50 which already sounds so amazing, I just don't know if Breakaway can improve the sound any further. But I'm curious, now.

Now, if I was using a Bose system... I'm sure Breakaway would help big time since Bose needs all the help it can get to sound good.

Thank you. Thank you very much.

Author:  mrmarog [ Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Alan, breakaway IS NOT designed to make anything sound better. It was created to make the sound levels more level in relation to each other. There are EQ settings like most software offers such as: reference, live, jazz, rock, oldies, etc. If you don't want any EQing use "reference", which is what I use.

Author:  Hanginon [ Sat Mar 30, 2019 4:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

I must say, it is always fun to check in here and take a break from the real world.
It's like reading a Science Fiction novel where the Laws Of Physics no longer rule.

Author:  Lonman [ Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Alan B wrote:
Lonman wrote:
Alan B wrote:
OK so how does Breakaway work with the Lexicon Alpha? Right now, my PC uses the Alpha ASIO drivers and under Sound Properties, is the default USB playback device. When you install Breakaway, it then becomes the default playback device as shown in Sound properties. So, how does the Alpha work with Breakaway?
Why does it matter? It's snake oil remember, not worth using.
However, you would set the sound settings to Breakaway Pipeline, then in the Breakway sound output setting to Lexicon (or USB output).
I am now going to tell you why it matters. Are you ready?

You see my friend, when I tried it out at home I wasn't very impressed. However, to be fair, I decided to try it out in a professional environment so I purchased the full version. I will be evaluating it at my show tonight.

If it works out, I will be happy and admit I was wrong. If not, I spent $29 which isn't going to break me, to find out.

I will be using it with my Evolve 50 which already sounds so amazing, I just don't know if Breakaway can improve the sound any further. But I'm curious, now.

Now, if I was using a Bose system... I'm sure Breakaway would help big time since Bose needs all the help it can get to sound good.

Thank you. Thank you very much.
Why did you purchase and not just use the 30 day free fully functional trial? Then you wouldn't have been out anything if you didn't like it? And even after the 30 days - it still fully functions but only for a half hour when it goes into a bypass until you enable it again.

Author:  Lonman [ Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

mrmarog wrote:
Alan, breakaway IS NOT designed to make anything sound better. It was created to make the sound levels more level in relation to each other. There are EQ settings like most software offers such as: reference, live, jazz, rock, oldies, etc. If you don't want any EQing use "reference", which is what I use.

Exactly, and that is what we've been trying to explain. But he's already said that Compuhost already has this feature built in that he doesn't use either.

Author:  silverhairedbee [ Sun Mar 31, 2019 1:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using Software Graphic Equaliser on PC

Alan B wrote:
Lonman wrote:
Alan B wrote:
OK so how does Breakaway work with the Lexicon Alpha? Right now, my PC uses the Alpha ASIO drivers and under Sound Properties, is the default USB playback device. When you install Breakaway, it then becomes the default playback device as shown in Sound properties. So, how does the Alpha work with Breakaway?
Why does it matter? It's snake oil remember, not worth using.
However, you would set the sound settings to Breakaway Pipeline, then in the Breakway sound output setting to Lexicon (or USB output).
I am now going to tell you why it matters. Are you ready?

You see my friend, when I tried it out at home I wasn't very impressed. However, to be fair, I decided to try it out in a professional environment so I purchased the full version. I will be evaluating it at my show tonight.

If it works out, I will be happy and admit I was wrong. If not, I spent $29 which isn't going to break me, to find out.

I will be using it with my Evolve 50 which already sounds so amazing, I just don't know if Breakaway can improve the sound any further. But I'm curious, now.

Now, if I was using a Bose system... I'm sure Breakaway would help big time since Bose needs all the help it can get to sound good.

Thank you. Thank you very much.



Now I can't wait to hear how you got on!

Page 4 of 6 All times are UTC - 8 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/