KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - Best laptop hardware for Compuhost Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

   
  * Login
  * Register

  * FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks


wordpress-hosting

Offsite Links


It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 2:02 pm 
Offline
newbie
newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:26 am
Posts: 4
Been Liked: 0 time
I'm just an amateur with a home karaoke system.
I host three big parties per year at my house.
A year or two ago, I bought a new laptop, upgraded my Compuhost software and ripped all my karaoke disks.
The system works great.
But I didn't put much thought into the laptop hardware options.
I need to use an external HDMI converter module to get composite video and RCA stereo sound outputs.
And to record, I need another converter to get audio line input into a USB port.

If you're wondering why I need composite video and RCA stereo, it's because my original VocoPro karaoke player is the center of my system.
If necessary, I can still play a disk.
And I can easily select the hosting laptop as the source, or an old desktop that lets guests browse the web for karaoke songs.
It's a bit of overkill for a hobby system, but it has evolved incrementally.
This all works great (even if a quality recording remains elusive).

But I now find a need to buy another laptop for a new purpose.
I'm considering whether the new laptop should replace the karaoke host laptop, so it can then be shifted to the new task.
Google searches have not turned up any clear options.
Is it even possible to get a laptop anymore with composite/RCA stereo outputs and stereo line inputs?
Is a docking station the best solution?
Can anyone provide suggestions?


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 4339
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 201 times
If you want to record with Compuhost, the best way in my opinion is get a mixer with a USB audio interface connects the mixer to the laptop. Compuhost has an autorecord feature built-in. Just click on the autorecord button and just let it go about its business. It will automatically name it with the song name and who is being recorded.

_________________
The Line Array Experiment is over. Nothing to see here. Move along.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 7:12 pm 
Offline
newbie
newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:26 am
Posts: 4
Been Liked: 0 time
Danny,
Thanks, but my main interest is whether I can find a laptop with A/V outputs, so I don't need a dongle.
It would be cleaner and simpler.
But even if a laptop provides the direct A/V outputs, I'm not sure that's the best option.
Live performance recording is a pretty low priority.
But an audio Line input would also be nice, and probably easier to find.

I actually have a sweet little, 10-channel mixer that I used in my Strolling Karaoke Show - Halloween costume. (Photo attached.)
I can make a working system without the VocoPro unit, using the mixer with laptop, mics and monitor.
Someday, I'll try hooking it up so I can hear mixed mic & background through headphones and record only vocals.
If that works, I'll mix the vocals and original background on my PC.
That way, I'm not re-recording the background via speakers, microphone and audio input components.

I plan to retire at the end of 2019 and move to a tropical climate.
By mid-year, I expect to have my house sold.
I'll need to cut down my possessions, which means the VocoPro must go.
But I'd like to still have karaoke capability in my new location, where ever that turns out to be.
Maybe I'll become a part-time KJ at some local bar.


Attachments:
IMG_1231.JPG
IMG_1231.JPG [ 660.38 KiB | Viewed 773 times ]
Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:08 pm 
Offline
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 22355
Songs: 35
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 1925 times
I dont think Compuhost has used a dongle for quite a few years now.
Most any laptop iff the shelf is more than capable of running the software and have HDMI output for video.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:18 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 7:24 pm
Posts: 3123
Been Liked: 687 times
Lonman wrote:
Most any laptop iff the shelf is more than capable of running the software and have HRMI output for video.

And some even have HDMI outputs. LOL

_________________
Electro-Voice Evolve 50... Taking Sound To The Next Level.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:12 pm 
Offline
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 22355
Songs: 35
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 1925 times
Late night, tired eyes and fat fingers on phone. Fixed now.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:01 pm 
Offline
newbie
newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:26 am
Posts: 4
Been Liked: 0 time
Clearly I'm just causing confusion on this forum and it's time to close this topic.
I misused the term dongle, thinking it was adequate for a broad range of components that attach to the laptop.
In this case, I meant the HDMI to AV converter and the AV to USB converter.
These are objects hanging off my laptop and "dongle" is an adequate description for me.
But I understand that this term is most closely associated with licensing devices.

Thanks to all who have tried to help.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:50 pm 
Offline
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 22355
Songs: 35
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 1925 times
Well your use of video out is what is confusing, exactly what are the inputs your tv you are trying to hook up to are. Most of todays flatscreens have more than 1 hdmi input in which you'd just connect straight from the laptop to the tv.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:45 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 4339
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 201 times
In case you're confused HDMI jacks look like this:


Attachments:
20181113_074244.jpg
20181113_074244.jpg [ 1.49 MiB | Viewed 676 times ]

_________________
The Line Array Experiment is over. Nothing to see here. Move along.
Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 101 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Privacy Policy | Anti-Spam Policy | Acceptable Use Policy Copyright © Karaoke Scene Magazine
design & hosting by Cross Web Tech