KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - karaoke mp3+g normalizer Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

   
  * Login
  * Register

  * FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks


premium-member

Offsite Links


It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:49 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:58 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:43 pm
Posts: 3255
Images: 13
Been Liked: 999 times
To knf & Alan: I'd say time to revisit this software and give it another chance. :wink:

_________________
To be fortunate enough to derive an income from a source as fulfilling as karaoke music has got to be as close to heaven as we can get here on earth!


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:32 am 
Offline
Super Poster
Super Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:39 am
Posts: 1481
Images: 2
Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada
Been Liked: 120 times
Compuhost has built in normalization but... IT DOES NOT WORK FLAWLESSLY.
It only normalizes to a certain degree.

I use Compuhost at my shows with the Normalization always enabled but I accompany it with activating the compressor on the audio channel setting a medium threshold around -15 to -20dB. I know it's a bit much but it evenly balances out many tracks.


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 11:55 am 
Online
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 21750
Songs: 35
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 1672 times
karaokeniagarafalls wrote:
Maybe I must've missed something with this software.

So you're telling me:
1) Run Breakaway software in the audio chain
2) Run my favorite karaoke software
3) Play a karaoke song (Karaoke software Unzips the karaoke track)
4) Breakaway software processes the MP3 part of the karaoke song in "real time" (Normalizes song without permanent alteration to the song.
5) No cdg syncing issues

All this on a "Windows PC" with no lag?

Yep x's 3

In the beginning (2008 or so) there was an ever slight lag (graphic sync) that seemed to be remedied since, but even if that is the case most softwares have a sync adjust in the settings you can just bump and save (at least Hoster does).

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:58 pm 
Online
Super Plus Poster
Super Plus Poster

Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1932
Location: HIgh River, AB
Been Liked: 254 times
my only complaint was it wouldn't run on my setup when i switched to windows 10, but whatever the problem was, it's been fixed.

Now if i could just find my license to put on my new laptop computer.. No response from the website.. But for $30 i just may cave and buy another one.. lol


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:42 am 
Offline
Super Plus Poster
Super Plus Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 3:35 am
Posts: 1791
Been Liked: 333 times
karaokeniagarafalls wrote:
Maybe I must've missed something with this software.

So you're telling me:
1) Run Breakaway software in the audio chain
2) Run my favorite karaoke software
3) Play a karaoke song (Karaoke software Unzips the karaoke track)
4) Breakaway software processes the MP3 part of the karaoke song in "real time" (Normalizes song without permanent alteration to the song.
5) No cdg syncing issues

All this on a "Windows PC" with no lag?


You've attempted to take a very simple audio processing tool and make it much more complicated than it really is. Breakaway is nothing more than a virtual audio device that works as an audio processor then sends the signal on to a physical audio port. That's it and even that makes it sound more complicated than it is.

Latency happens any time an audio signal changes. Lag happens when the signal exits an audio cable . Any audio processor, physical or computer based creates a lag. Heck, getting the signal to a physical audio processor creates lag. The question isn't IF latency happens. The question is how much and is the amount noticeable. PC USB I ports were notorious for their latency. PC processors (which is all that happens with Breakaway)? Not so much. In the case of breakaway, it is able to work no differently than any VST, process the signal and pass it along without any significant latency. I understand from reading this earlier versions had bugs or issues. Those issues were not a representation of port or PC interface latency but probably more a design flaw.

I have Breakaway but I do not use it. It isn't that it doesn't work.. It works beautifully for what it is suppose to do. But I wrote my own volume control into my program and that works much better for me. Some softer songs do not need to be as loud as others. AC\DC needs to be turned up a notch or two. lynyrd skynyrd also needs to be turned up... Ronnie Van Zant told us so.. :lol: I will go through Breakaway if its a long stretch of DJ stuff or a wedding..


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 1:24 pm 
Online
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 21750
Songs: 35
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 1672 times
The thing I like about Breakaway is it's not only a normalizer, it's a multiband processor so if bass, mid, highs are over powering it will mellow out just those frequencies as well while keeping the overall volume in check.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 09, 2017 4:02 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:24 pm
Posts: 4404
Location: Phoenix Az
Been Liked: 927 times
my problem with it is that it is not a normalizer.
it is a compressor...plain and simple.
it turns up the volume when the CURRENT volume is below "X" and stops turning it down when it gets below "Y" volume NOW.
so quiet parts of a song (just an acoustic guitar which is a LOT of high mids) get turned up way too far, and then when the full band comes in the compressor stops turning things up and the volume is too low.
then, after it leaves compressor 1, it goes into a multiband compressor which compresses frequencies based on ENERGY, not percieved volume. and every one of them...look at how much they compress (any preset) and you have the perfect smiley face EQ.

_________________
Paradigm Karaoke, The New Standard.......Shift Happens


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Privacy Policy | Anti-Spam Policy | Acceptable Use Policy Copyright © Karaoke Scene Magazine
design & hosting by Cross Web Tech