KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - Why can't they make it easier. Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

   
  * Login
  * Register

  * FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks


premium-member

Offsite Links


It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:58 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 10:49 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 3520
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 106 times
I am in the process of trying to import my library into Hoster and it's a pain. I never had this much trouble with any of the other programs that I have used, just choose the root folder, turn on the add subfolders, choose the naming convention and click on go. I can't get the subfolders to import with subfolders checked. I am having to import one folder at a time. Some of my folders have subfolders of their own, my SC has the most because I separated each disc into their own folder.

_________________
I am not a DJ or Karaoke Host. I am a Professional Karaoke Soundman. Anything less is Just Karaoke.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:14 pm 
Offline
Super Poster
Super Poster

Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 8:41 am
Posts: 529
Been Liked: 191 times
DannyG2006 wrote:
I am in the process of trying to import my library into Hoster and it's a pain. I never had this much trouble with any of the other programs that I have used, just choose the root folder, turn on the add subfolders, choose the naming convention and click on go. I can't get the subfolders to import with subfolders checked. I am having to import one folder at a time. Some of my folders have subfolders of their own, my SC has the most because I separated each disc into their own folder.


Speaking of easier . . .

As a general guideline for anyone requesting assistance in ANY online forum . . .

Always include the version number and as much info on your computer as you can when you ask for help - Many problems (especially in Karaoke Programs) are version specific and/or OS/Karaoke Program specific.

We all want to help each other out but it makes it a lot easier to help when we don't have to guess what Program version, Operating System, Video card etc we are dealing with.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 12:46 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 3520
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 106 times
Dell Latitude D520
Windows 10 professional
I just bought Hoster this month so it should be the latest release.

_________________
I am not a DJ or Karaoke Host. I am a Professional Karaoke Soundman. Anything less is Just Karaoke.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 7:56 pm 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 3520
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 106 times
Figured out how it works. It's a bummer that you can't really leave it to do it by itself. But if that's the only drawback, I can live with it. I used to have Hoster Lite and I don't remember having to stay watching it do its thing.

_________________
I am not a DJ or Karaoke Host. I am a Professional Karaoke Soundman. Anything less is Just Karaoke.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 3:49 am 
Offline
Super Poster
Super Poster

Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 8:41 am
Posts: 529
Been Liked: 191 times
Good to see you at least got it working.

One of the best features of Karma is that it has an easily manipulated Access database that allows the end user to work around the design flaws Bob has put into it.

No matter what the program, I insist on being able to work with MY data My way. If the database is locked or proprietary I find a way around it or I won't purchase or run it.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 4:00 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 3520
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 106 times
While Karma has some good features, the lack of an integrated kiosk or phone app capabilityplus the fact that I won't give a dime to the arrogant jerk that wrote the software for past treatment, it doesn't work for me. While I am going to miss the pop up reminder when someone doesn'the have a song in, Hoster more than meets my needs.

_________________
I am not a DJ or Karaoke Host. I am a Professional Karaoke Soundman. Anything less is Just Karaoke.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:01 am 
Online
Super Extreme Poster
Super Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2001 3:57 pm
Posts: 21750
Songs: 35
Images: 3
Location: Tacoma, WA
Been Liked: 1673 times
I rename a dummy song (usually something I would never use) to ***I NEED A SONG FROM YOU*** and put it in their spot, if they don't give me one by the time their spot is up, I proceed to the next singer.

_________________
LIKE Lonman on Facebook - Lonman Productions Karaoke & my main site via my profile!
Image


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:26 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:24 pm
Posts: 4405
Location: Phoenix Az
Been Liked: 927 times
DannyG2006 wrote:
While I am going to miss the pop up reminder when someone doesn'the have a song in,

yi thought you had Siglos, that has this feature

_________________
Paradigm Karaoke, The New Standard.......Shift Happens


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:34 am 
Offline
Advanced Poster
Advanced Poster

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:49 am
Posts: 440
Been Liked: 104 times
Lonman wrote:
I rename a dummy song (usually something I would never use) to ***I NEED A SONG FROM YOU*** and put it in their spot, if they don't give me one by the time their spot is up, I proceed to the next singer.


Does the dummy title get displayed on a screen crawl of something similar? That's pretty cool to do it that way.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:57 am 
Offline
Super Duper Poster
Super Duper Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:13 pm
Posts: 2938
Images: 1
Location: Florida
Been Liked: 1204 times
Toastedmuffin wrote:
Lonman wrote:
I rename a dummy song (usually something I would never use) to ***I NEED A SONG FROM YOU*** and put it in their spot, if they don't give me one by the time their spot is up, I proceed to the next singer.


Does the dummy title get displayed on a screen crawl of something similar? That's pretty cool to do it that way.

Yes, It does. It lets the singers know in advance of being called to the stage. I've been using this technique for about 8 years. I also used to use "customer CD" for a singer that brought in their own music, but I don't play cd's anymore.


Top
 Profile Personal album Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 6:47 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 3520
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 106 times
mrmarog wrote:
Toastedmuffin wrote:
Lonman wrote:
I rename a dummy song (usually something I would never use) to ***I NEED A SONG FROM YOU*** and put it in their spot, if they don't give me one by the time their spot is up, I proceed to the next singer.


Does the dummy title get displayed on a screen crawl of something similar? That's pretty cool to do it that way.

Yes, It does. It lets the singers know in advance of being called to the stage. I've been using this technique for about 8 years. I also used to use "customer CD" for a singer that brought in their own music, but I don't play cd's anymore.

Although I have only had this happen once in all the 20+ years that I have been hosting karaoke, only allow original discs only.

_________________
I am not a DJ or Karaoke Host. I am a Professional Karaoke Soundman. Anything less is Just Karaoke.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:19 am 
Offline
Advanced Poster
Advanced Poster

Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 6:49 am
Posts: 440
Been Liked: 104 times
mrmarog wrote:
Toastedmuffin wrote:
Lonman wrote:
I rename a dummy song (usually something I would never use) to ***I NEED A SONG FROM YOU*** and put it in their spot, if they don't give me one by the time their spot is up, I proceed to the next singer.


Does the dummy title get displayed on a screen crawl of something similar? That's pretty cool to do it that way.

Yes, It does. It lets the singers know in advance of being called to the stage. I've been using this technique for about 8 years. I also used to use "customer CD" for a singer that brought in their own music, but I don't play cd's anymore.


I have the Singer names... I've been doing that forever, But Singer and Song title is nice

If they use the SongbookDB, I send them a buzz... but honestly i dunno if they pay that much attention to that feature.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:26 am 
Offline
Extreme Poster
Extreme Poster

Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 11:31 am
Posts: 3520
Songs: 1
Location: Watebrury, CT
Been Liked: 106 times
Toastedmuffin wrote:
mrmarog wrote:
Toastedmuffin wrote:
Lonman wrote:
I rename a dummy song (usually something I would never use) to ***I NEED A SONG FROM YOU*** and put it in their spot, if they don't give me one by the time their spot is up, I proceed to the next singer.


Does the dummy title get displayed on a screen crawl of something similar? That's pretty cool to do it that way.

Yes, It does. It lets the singers know in advance of being called to the stage. I've been using this technique for about 8 years. I also used to use "customer CD" for a singer that brought in their own music, but I don't play cd's anymore.


I have the Singer names... I've been doing that forever, But Singer and Song title is nice

If they use the SongbookDB, I send them a buzz... but honestly i dunno if they pay that much attention to that feature.

Minedo pay attention to the Marquee so I think that those who have smartphones will probably pay attention to the buzz feature.

_________________
I am not a DJ or Karaoke Host. I am a Professional Karaoke Soundman. Anything less is Just Karaoke.


Top
 Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Privacy Policy | Anti-Spam Policy | Acceptable Use Policy Copyright © Karaoke Scene Magazine
design & hosting by Cross Web Tech