KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - using copied discs Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

* Login
  * Register

* FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks

premium-member

Offsite Links

It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 3:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: using copied discs
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 10:39 pm 

Been Liked: 0 time
I've seen a few posts here that lead me to believe that some Karaoke pros make and use copies of their legally purchased discs. According to a group called the Karaoke Anti Piracy Agency, http://www.karaokeantipiracyagency.com, (you've probably heard of these guys, but I'm new to this) it is illegal to use copied discs for any commercial purpose. Can anyone elaborate on this subject? It would be nice not to have to carry the originals around everywhere.

Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2003 11:03 pm 
Extreme Plus Poster
Extreme Plus Poster

Been Liked: 1 time
welcome to the site Big B!

Please do a search on the site, you'll find a lot of discussion about the use of legal backups. And unfortunately, we've still not come to an agreement on it.

The audio program "That's Karaoke" has tackled it on Episodes 4 and 5. In episode 4, they interviewed Tom from Sound Choice, who came right out and said "Any copies are illegal" as they are a direct violation of their copyright.

However, in episode 5, they interviewed Christian Nelson from Priddis, who said that individuals could make copies of THEIR music IF they owned them.