KARAOKE SCENE MAGAZINE ONLINE! - New system advice Public Forums Karaoke Discussions Karaoke Scene's Karaoke Forums Home | Contact Us | Site Map  

Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene Karaoke Forums

Karaoke Scene

* Login
  * Register

* FAQ
  * Search

Custom Search

Social Networks

wordpress-hosting

Offsite Links

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 2:59 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: New system advice
PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 1:46 pm 

Been Liked: 0 time
Thanks for all that have helped. I am very new to this and all the local Kjs that I have faithfull suported by going to the shows and spend a lot of money at wont help with advice. So Im basicly winging it. I went to the local guitar center and picked up two Mackie sa1521 speakers. By the way I had him demo the srm450 first and they souned great untill he switched over to the 1521 wow what a speaker!!! Other then microphones he had no clue as to what else I needed. I guess I will need a basic mixer to play dj music if the need arise. what's good? I have pretty much decided to go with a computer shuttle . Still researching what's best. any advice? After reading cavs form and all the problems listed there I don't think I will consider cavs. I also want to get a cdg unit as a back up what's the best 3 tray?
What else do I need? Please help I am a green pea at this

Profile Singer's Showcase Profile 

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 23, 2003 2:33 pm 
Advanced Poster
Advanced Poster

JVC 3-tray is probably the industry standard. I use both the 3-tray and the single and have never had a problem with either!
You will definitely need a mixer because it's not a good idea to put microphones through the computer.

After that, you're on your own because (each to their own) I much prefer to use discs rather than a computer, even if the computer has all the back-up known to man. You will, however, get a lot of people disagreeing with me, which is what this forum is all about!